A metal boot lace hook, embossed “J.E. Tallon, Fine Shoes, Cornwall. Boot hooks were common shoe store hand-outs much like shoe horns.
Donated to the Cornwall Community Museum by Eloda McGill of Cornwall in 1975.
The business was founded around 1850 by John Kewin “after enjoying various proprietors and undergoing frequent and extensive improvements it came to the hands of (Felix) Dulin and (James E.) Tallon in 1897 when the formed a partnership and purchased the stock of P.E. Campbell & Co.” (Freeholder, 1901)
Within four years Dulin and Tallon could boast that:
“Fortune had smiled upon their venture and the business has since gone ahead with leaps and bounds, until today (1901) they have one of the most splendid mercantile concerns in town.” (Freeholder, 1901).
Situated in the Crystal Block, the building got “…its name from its front of glass and iron.”
Two stories high, the Block was “…fitted throughout with an up-to-date cash-carrier system (probably a pneumatic tub), and was “…heated with hot air from a furnace in the basement.” (Freeholder, 1901.)